The Bihar Council on Science & Technology, Patna was set up by the Government of Bihar resolution no. 845 dated 25th February, 1984 under the financial and administrative control of the Department of Science & Technology, Government of Bihar and was registered on 21st June, 1984 as an autonomous organization under Societies Registration Act 21 of 1860 (No. 101/84-85)


To become facilitator and mentor for promoting R&D on one hand and to service the technological requirements of the common man through development of science and technology on the other.


To promote science and technology in the state by encouraging scientists, academicians and technologists to pursue world class research and to nurture a scientific temper in young scientists in their early stage.


The Chief Minister, Bihar is the President and the Minister and the State Minister, Science & Technology, Bihar are the Vice Presidents of the Council. The Principal Secretary, Science & Technology is the Secretary of the Council. There are 26 members in the council which included representatives of various State Government Departments, reputed industries, organizations and institutions from all over the country.

The Development Commissioner, Bihar is the Chairman and the Principal Secretary, Science & Technology, Bihar is the Vice Chairman of the Executive Committee. There are 12 members of the Executive Committee which include Principal Secretaries of various State Government Departments.